Back to Kid' Voices Owen

Hi! My name is Owen. I am almost nine years old. This is a picture of me and my sisters, Sam and Maya, when we went parasailing. We took this picture when we were over 500 feet in the air!

I have a bulldog named Corie. I got her two weeks after I was diagnosed with diabetes. She is one year old and she loves to be petted and play monkey in the middle. Sometimes when she looks tired I throw her the ball.

I love to play with Legos, friends and video games. My favorite sports are soccer, baseball, swimming and skiing. I play on a soccer team with a lot of my friends. I also love to read and draw. I live in Colorado and I go skiing a lot in the winter.

I got diagnosed with diabetes on June 15, 2011. Since then I have been hiking, boating, fishing, to two Rockies games, swimming, and to Elitches Amusement Park. I don't think diabetes has slowed me down at all! Hopefully I will get a pump before too long. I hope the pump will be easier for me than getting four shots a day.

If you want to be pen pals email me at .

Published August 9, 2011


  Back to Kid' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Tuesday August 09, 2011 10:12:44
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.