Back to Kid' Voices Esté

Hi, my name is Esté.

I was 4 years old when I was diagnosed with diabetes and I am now 13 years old. I have a brother and a sister. My sister is married and lives in London. My brother works and lives in Pretoria. I am the youngest. I love animals and have 3 dogs – Jessy, a Labrador, Borris, a Rottweiler and a Jack Russel with the funny name of Stoffel.

My parents are divorced and my mom remarried. My mom and I live in Pretoria, South Africa with my stepdad and my stepbrother. My dad lives in a small town in the Eastern Cape with my stepmom.

I love playing hockey. I am in our school's first under 12 team. We practice twice a week and we play matches every weekend in winter. I also enjoy playing the guitar and I sing in our school choir.

If you have been diagnosed with diabetes it is difficult, I know, but all you have to do is stay positive. Look after yourself and believe in yourself. Know you can do anything anyone else can do if you set your mind to it.

You can email me at

Published June 17, 2009


  Back to Kid' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Wednesday June 24, 2009 12:21:14
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.