Back to Kid' Voices Mariusz

My name's Mariusz and I'm 15 years old. I was diagnosed on the 9th of December 2007. I live in Lubin and Legnica in Poland. When I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes the first thing that came to me was that I was drinking all the time. I was also very tired. My calves hurt me still, and I got cramps in my legs at night.

My sugar was over 1000 when they finally diagnosed me. I stayed at Dzieciecy Szpital Kliniczny (Children's Clinical Hospital) in Wroclaw for two weeks. They trained me, my sister and my dad on how to give injections and check sugar level and how to calculate carbohydrates. The last was most difficult. But it's getting easier every day. Before we came to the hospital I didn't know anything about diabetes.

I'm slowly getting used to the whole setup. I take five insulin injections a day. I use Novo Rapid, the fast acting one, and I use Insulatart, the slow acting one.

I practice different kinds of sports like running, roller blading, volleyball, skateboarding and soccer. Soccer is my favorite.

Diabetes doesn't stop me at all!

I would be glad if you write me back at mariobis AT




Published January 27, 2008

  Back to Kid' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Sunday January 27, 2008 11:53:16
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.