Back to Kid' Voices Brianna

My name is Brianna, I am 12 years-old and was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes when I was 14 months old. I live in Florida, sometimes with my mother and sometimes with my father and always with my 9 year-old brother, Brandon, who also has type 1 diabetes.

I am in the 6th grade, my first year of middle school. Middle school seems to be a bit easier with my diabetes -- at least other kids don't say things to me like "My Aunt caught diabetes from you."

I think the worst thing about having diabetes is when they have parties in school and I can't eat what my classmates are eating.

I have several pets at both my mom's and my dad's houses including dogs, cats, birds, snakes and one fish. I enjoy chatting on my computer, listening to my iPod, talking on the phone, shopping, reading, playing basketball, skating, riding my bike, scooter and skateboard and going to the beach.

For years I have searched online for a pen pal who also has diabetes. I would love to correspond with girls or boys I think boys could provide a different view on things I deal with having diabetes especially since we are all growing up now and getting into our teen years.

I can be reached at mrsbenjimadden94 AT

Published February 25, 2007


  Back to Kid' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Sunday February 25, 2007 16:28:58
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.