Back to Kids' Voices Molly

Hi. My name is Molly. I am 9 years old. I live in Rhode Island. I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes when I was 18 months old. One day I had a seizure and my parents took me to the hospital. The doctors didn't know I had diabetes until later. I just recently got a pump and I am not really comfortable with it yet. Sometimes I am afraid that it will hurt so much that I won't let my mom put it on me. If you have the pump, I would really appreciate it if you would email me. Even if you don't have the pump I would enjoy talking to you. My email address is vmccrystal AT

Some things that I like to do are play sports. I play soccer, softball, and basketball. I also like to play outside and hang out with my friends. My favorite food is macaroni and cheese. My favorite color is light purple. I have an older sister Rachel who is 11 years old and a younger sister Haley who is 2 years old and really cute. I don't have any pets but I really like dogs.

April 2004 Update

Hello, this is Molly back again. Everything has been great with my new pump and I'm planning to go to a diabetes camp in June with my friend Cailin. This is the first time I will be away from my family but I'm excited. I did go to a weekend camp with my sister Rachel but this is bigger. I am going to the Clara Barton camp in Massachusetts. Also, my favorite color is light blue not purple. I'm planning my 10th birthday party at an indoor sports arena with a jumpy castle, mini basketball, games and air hockey. I get to invite 14 friends. I'm so excited.

August 2005 Update

Hi! This is molly again! I am 11 years old now. I am getting more into my pump. I just got back from diabetes camp (Clara Barton camp). I met soooo many new friends there. It's in Massachusetts. I met girls from all over the U.S. I met a few girls from New York and they were like, "WOW! You don't have an agent!" I am like, "That's normal!" And they said they have never met anyone who doesnt have an agent! I have never met anyone who has an agent!

My favorite sports are softball and track. I am starting a cross country team! I am not good at long distance! My favorite shows are Full House, American Idol, The Suite Life and Zack and Cody. My favorite movies are School of Rock, The Pacifier, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, and Napolean Dynamite.

Diabetes camp is awesome! If you go, you will have so much fun!

I'm on the far right in the picture. The middle is my sister Haley who is 2 year old. To the left is my older sister Rachel who is 12 years old.

Published January 23, 2004
Updated August 17, 2005

  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Thursday August 18, 2005 16:48:46
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.