Back to Kids' Voices Emma

Hi! My name is Emma and I am seven years old. I was diagnosed in April 2001. I live in England but wish it was somewhere warmer!

I am still trying to get used to doing my blood sugar testing. Sometimes it takes me a while to press the button on my 'fingerpricker' because it makes me jump when the needle pricks my finger!

I have a brother who is one year old. His name is Joshua and I really love him, even if he does break some of my toys! I can't wait until he gets older so that I can play some proper games with him.

I also have two cats called Beauty and Missey. Me and my Mum chose them from a rescue centre.

When I get older I would really like to work with animals. I love Seals and would like to look after rescued seals at a sealife centre.

At school there is only one other girl who has diabetes like me so I sometimes feel a little bit 'different'.

I was quite poorly before I was diagnosed with diabetes and I am trying to catch up on my school work that I had to miss. I miss eating chocolate, sweets and biscuits but am trying really hard to not make a big deal of everything that I can't have and making the most of what I can.

Please email me because I love to make new friends. My email address is emma7[@]


Published December 23, 2001

  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Sunday December 05, 2004 11:16:46
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.