Back to Kids' Voices Alfonso

Hi my name is Alfonso. I am 10 years old and I was born in Caracas, Venezuela. I was diagnosed when I was 11 months old.

I am going to fifth grade in a school in California.

Diabetes doesn't stop me at all! I practice different kinds of sport, like soccer, baseball, roller skating, tennis, and karate. The last one is my favorite. I love it. I have been practicing karate for six years and a Black Belt in Shotokan but when I moved to USA I changed my style because I can't find that style here. Now I am practicing Shorin-ryu and I am a green belt.

I like music too. I can play "Cuatro" (Venezuela's national instrument), keyboard, drum and violin. I like to read and play chess as well.

I have a sister. She is six years old and her name is Valeria. She practices gymnastics. I love her so much because she takes care of me a lot.

When I grow up I want to be an engineer, just like my dad.

My e-mail address is or


Published August 3, 2001

  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Sunday December 05, 2004 11:16:44
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.