Back to Kids' Voices Melissa

Hi, my name is Melissa. I'm 10 years old and was diagnosed in May 1999. When I was first diagnosed, I was scared and mad. I spent three dyas in the hospital with my mom by my side. My dad was out of town when we found out. When I went to the hospital I was 438 and I went higher before the insulin started to work. My lowest reading was 20, which happened at school.

I have a younger sister and brother, they are eight and six years old. I have two cats, Kee Kee and Blackie. I enjoy collecting Beanie Babies, whales, dolphins, and horses. I also enjoy swimming, riding my bike, and rollerblading.

I count carbs to know how much insulin I need at every meal. I give myself four to five shots daily. We just found out on June 23rd that within two to three weeks I'll be going on the insulin pump. I can hardly wait.

I'm looking for kids with diabetes about my age to be penpals with. If you're interested, please write to me at jminnick[@]


Published June 30, 2000

  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Sunday December 05, 2004 11:16:30
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.