Back to Kids' Voices Zachary
Hi, my name is Zachary and I am 5 years old. I live in Pennsylvania with my mommy, daddy, and younger sister, who is 3. I was diagnosed with diabetes on March 31, 1999. My mommy noticed I was going to the bathroom and drinking a lot more then normal. I couldn't even make it in a car ride for more then 15 minutes without having to stop and go to the bathroom. My mommy called the doctor and they said to bring me in right away.

The first thing they did was to check the sugar in my blood and it was 521. We left for the hospital that night where we stayed for 2 days. It wasn't that bad there, I even played bingo with the other kids and won some cool toys.

Now I can even do my own finger pokes, but I still need help to know what the numbers means. I do know that if the number is low I get to have some juice. I don't even mind the shots, I know that it's something that I have to do so that I don't feel bad.

I'm not ready to do my own shots yet, but I do practice on some fruit once in a while. I enjoy, gymnastics, dinosaurs, and anything to do in the outdoors.

If anyone would like to write to me or my mommy or daddy, you can reach us at


Published February 3, 2000

  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Sunday December 05, 2004 11:16:24
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.