Back to Kids' Voices Darcy
Hi! My name is Darcy Daniels and I am 8 years old. I live in Mapleridge, British Columbia, Canada. I found out I had diabetes in August of 1999. I was going pee and was always thirsty. When I was diagnosed, I did not have to stay overnight in the hospital. My mom and dad and I went to B.C Childrens hospital every day for 5 days where they showed us how to eat, do finger pokes and give shots.

Even though I have diabetes I can still go to my karate class (I'm a green belt) and take my swimming lessons. My life has changed a bit since I was diagnosed. I have to eat 5 times a day, get finger pokes 4 times a day, and get shots twice a day. I also can't eat what I want anymore.

My mom and dad say that I am handling diabetes very well and that I am awsome!

You can email me at

Published January 23, 2000

  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Sunday December 05, 2004 11:16:22
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.