Back to Kids' Voices Danielle Simu
Hello everyone! My name is Danielle Simu and I live in the north of Sweden. I was born March 17, 1987 so I am 11 years old right now. I have Type 1 diabetes. It all started July 25, 1996. Two and a half years ago. I'm the only one in the family with diabetes and diabetes isn't anything that runs in the family. So it was very unexpected when this happened to me.

Now I'm used to my diabetes and don't think to much about it. I do my bloodtests and take my insulin-injections (5 to 6 every day) and it's okay. Not the funniest in the world - but okay. Our family got Internet not too long ago and the first thing my mother did was to search for "diabetes". And it was then she found this page.

When she showed me the page I felt that I wanted to write about myself and get myself some e-mail friends with diabetes just like me, from all over the world. And her I am now.

As I said, I live in Sweden and the village I live in is Karlsborgsverken. The nearest municipality is Kalix, one Swedish mile away, where we go for our shopping. I live only five Swedish miles from the boundary to Finland. Sometimes we go there for shopping too.

About a hundred Swedish miles away, in the south, is Sweden's capital, Stockholm.

About myself, I can tell you that I like dance, listen to music, sing, reading, writing letters, drawing, animals, being with my friends - yes, I like to have something to do all the time! In school I learn to play the piano and I think it's fun. I go in the 6th class in school. I have two animals of my own: my little mouse Missi and my hamster Oskar. But there are some more animals in the family also: a cat named Betsy, a dog named Puff and another mouse named Mimmi.

I have two sisters and one brother. My older sister, Angelica, is 15 years old and my younger sister, Nathalie is 8 years old. My little brothers name is André and he's 5 years old. My mother is 36 and her name is Rose-Marie but everyone call her Susie. My father is 35 and his name is Håkan. Where I live I don´t know anyone with diabetes. So sometimes I feel a little lonely with my disease. Maybe someone who reads this feel the same? Let us get to know each other then! Boy or girl doesn't matter, but I hope your age is between 10 and 12 years old. It isn't necessary for you to have the same interests as me. Besides writing letters/mail!

You can mail me at my mothers e-mail address:

My parents, Susie and Håkan, would like to hear from other parents with children with diabetes. Send them an e-mail too!

  Danielle Simu's Picture
Me and Bambi

  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Sunday December 05, 2004 11:16:08
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.