Back to Kids' Voices Matthew Cooper

Hi, My name is Matthew Cooper and I am ten years old. I am in fifth grade this year in Boulder, Colorado. I was diagnosed with diabetes when I was 20 months old. My aunt has juvenile diabetes too, and so when I kept soaking through my diapers and drinking lots and lots of milk, my mom knew that there might be something wrong. It was still a total shock to my parents to find out I did have it. They were surprised that I could get it when I was still so little.

We were very lucky though. My mom found out about the Barbara Davis Center in Denver, Colorado and we only had to spend one night in the hospital. A wonderful nurse named Sandy Hoops came to the Center even though it was Christmas and spent all day training my mom and dad so I would not have to spend another night in the hospital. She spent all day for the next four days giving them more and more training because she wanted them to be so capable of taking care of me so that I would never have to spend another night in a hospital - ever - and I never have. When I have been sick, Dr. Chase or one of the other Center doctors will stay up and talk to my parents every couple of hours to make sure that they are doing a good job helping me get better. Luckily, I hardly ever get sick. We also study the Understanding Insulin Dependent Diabetes Book by Peter Chase, M.D. (order at (303) 863-1200), and it lets us know everything -- even how to use my insulin pump.

I am in the Cygnus Glucowatch trial, and I really like it! It works great and really helps me remember to check my blood glucose levels and make adjustments with my pump, and the alarm helps me know if I am getting too high or too low. At the end of the trial, I get to keep both Glucowatch biographers and enough sensors for six months!

My four year old sister has the same DR3 and DR4 allele combination so she received a BCG vaccination when she was 9 months old so she won't get diabetes (hopefully), and she also had a "booster" of BCG. She had a 50% risk of being autoantibody positive by now, but she is still "safe". My brother was autoantibody positive, and they also found out he had very high prostaglandin levels. The researcher said he would be diabetic in "a few months", but my mom gave him a prostaglandin (PGS2) suppressor, and now all of his autoantibodies have been reversed. Our whole family is in the DPT study and my sister is in the DAISY study. We are also in the CEDAR study, and they diagnosed my mom with Celiac Sprue. You can write my mom if you want to talk about studies or research at

I love to swim and was on the Elks Swim Team this summer. Freestyle and backstroke are my favorites. I am going to Orlando this summer to meet Gary Hall Jr.! You can go too! Just see It's a New Day in Diabetes Conference and Expo I also play piano and really like playing lacrosse and hockey. Our family likes to go four wheeling in the mountains, and I help my dad with the maps. I also like to ski and snow board.

Matthew wearing the Glucowatch as part of the trial

  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Sunday December 05, 2004 11:15:58
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.