Back to Legislative News Legislative and Legal Issues
ADA Diabetes Advocacy update
May 1, 1998

Great News!

134 Members of Congress signed the diabetes letter to Congressman John Porter (list of signers at end of message)! The letter urges him to make finding a cure for diabetes a national priority.

Thank you to everyone who convinced their Congressman to sign the letter. Your advocacy is the reason why so many signed it.

As you know, Congressman Porter is Chair of the Committee in Congress that decides how much the government will spend on diabetes research. This letter will help persuade him to provide a big increase for diabetes research in 1999.

The American Diabetes Association is demanding that Congress provide $545 million for diabetes research in 1999. This is the amount diabetes would receive if it had grown at the same rate as the NIH budget between 1987-97.

You will recall that during this ten year span, the government's medical research budget (NIH) grew 100% while the diabetes research budget grew just 35%. We need to make up this shortfall that occurred when the diabetes community was silent.

ADA is also recommending to Congress and to NIH that the diabetes research budget should increase to $1 billion a year in the next 3 or 4 years.

By working with ADA, we can convince Congress to make a cure for diabetes a national priority. Many thanks, again, for your help in convincing your Congressman to sign the letter to Congressman Porter.

Next week, I'll tell you about what else ADA has been doing to convince Congressman Porter to make diabetes a national priority. As always, please feel free to contact me at any time.

As always, please email your comments, questions and concerns to me. Many thanks for your continued support.

Joe LaMountain
National Director of Advocacy
American Diabetes Association
1660 Duke Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
(f) 703-549-8748

Here are the 134 members of Congress who signed the letter to Congressman Porter. Is your Congressman on the list? Why not?

Abercrombie, Neil
Ackerman, Gary
Andrews, Robert
Bachus, Spence
Baesler, Scotty
Baker, Richard
Baldacci, John
Barrett, Thomas
Bass, Charles
Bentsen, Ken
Bereuter, Doug
Bonior, David
Borski, Robert
Boucher, Rick
Boyd, Allen
Brown, Sherrod
Burr, Richard
Capps, Lois
Christiensen, John
Clay, William
Clayton, Eva
Clement, Bob
Clyburn, James
Coble, Howard
Collins, Mac
Condit, Gary
Cook, Merrill
Cooksey, John
Coyne, Bill
Cunningham, Randy
Danner, Pat
Davis, Danny
Davis, Tom
Defazio, Peter
DeGette, Diana
Dingell, John
Duncan, John
Ehlers, Vernon
Ehrlich, Robert
Emerson, Jo Ann
English, Phil
Ensign, John
Eshoo, Anna
Evans, Lane
Ewing, Tom
Faleomavaega, Eni
Fawell, Harris
Filner, Bob
Foley, Mark
Ford, Harold
Fox, John
Furse, Elizabeth
Gejdenson, Sam
Gilman, Ben
Goode, Virgil
Green, Gene
Gutierrez, Luis
Hayworth, JD
Hefley, Joel
Hilliard, Earl
Hinchey, Maurice
Hinojosa, Ruben
Holden, Tim
Hooley, Darlene
Horn, Steve
Jackson, Jesse
Jackson-Lee, Sheila
John, Christopher
Johnson, Eddie
Johnson, Jay
Kanjorski, Paul
Kennedy, Joe
Kilpatrick, Carolyn
Kleczka, Jerry
Klink, Ron
Lafalce, John
Lahood, Ray
Lampson, Nick
Lantos, Tom
Latourette, Steve
Levin, Sander
Lewis, John
Lipinski, William
Lofgren, Zoe
Maloney, Carolyn
Maloney, Jim
Martinez, Matthew
Mascara, Frank
Matsui, Robert
McDermott, Jim
Mcgovern, Jim
Meehan, Marty
Menendez, Robert
Mink, Patsy
Mollohan, Alan
Moran, Jerry
Moran, Jim
Morella, Connie
Nethercutt, George
Ney, Bob
Norton, Eleanor
Olver, John
Pappas, Michael
Pastor, Ed
Petri, Thomas
Pickett, Owen
Pomeroy, Earl
Portman, Robert
Rahall, Nick
Redmond, Bill
Rush, Bobby
Sabo, Marin Olav
Sanders, Bernie
Scarborough, Joe
Schiff, Steve (deceased)
Schumer, Charles
Sessions, Pete
Sherman, Brad
Slaughter, Louise
Smith, Chris
Smith, Linda
Snowbarger, Vince
Spence, Floyd
Stark, Pete
Thune, John
Thurman, Karen
Underwood, Robert
Watkins, Wes
Weldon, Curt
Weldon, Dave
Wise, Bob
Woolsey, Lynn
Wynn, Al
Yates, Sidney

Posted 3 May 1998

  Back to Legislative News Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: Thursday February 27, 2014 19:28:21
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.